Following the Romanian coup and defection to the Allies on 23rd August, fighting broke out between German and Romanian forces in and around Bucharest and Ploesti. As part of the German operations to secure the area around the capital and oil fields, small detachments of German Special Forces were to attack Romanian-held airfields and destroy the aircraft that the Germans had supplied to their former Axis partner.

Watch the Germans strike the Airfield and see how the Romanians respond! In this Long Play I get into a lot of tactical and rule discussion as they apply in this interesting scenario setup and beginning.

In the comments below, let me know what you think of the scenario overall. Did you like the VC, Map, gameplay etc? Or, for that matter, what didn’t you like?


Updated: This scenario can play significantly different depending on how the VC and SSR 4 are interpreted. The following questions were sent to MMP (Perry Cocke) to get some clarity:

PK2 VC question: Do the Germans also accumulate CVP for eliminating Romanian units that also adds to their total VP for eliminating Gliders?

Answer: No.

PK2 SSR 4 question: Does the entirety of E1.54 apply since the section is called “1.54 ROUTING”? Specifically, do the capture/surrender and DM night changes in that section also apply to SSR4?

Answer: No and no.

GET TO THE CHOPPA…!!! Get To The Choppa...!!!


© 2023-2024, Stephen ‘Stew’ Stewart. All Rights Reserved. Copyright & Fair Use Notice.
ASL-Players.net is not affiliated with Hasbro, AH Games, Inc., or MMP, Inc. Advanced Squad Leader is a trademark of AH Games, Inc.


2 COMMENTS

  1. ROFL seems like a CF of rules.
    SSR 4 seems a bit “touchy” in it’s application.
    VC standard format.

    With some of those limitations…I think it can be very GIMMICKY for the Germans to assure an easy Victory.

    0
    0
  2. PK2 SSR 4 question: Does the entirety of E1.54 apply since the section is called “1.54 ROUTING”? Specifically, do the capture/surrender and DM night changes in that section also apply to SSR4?

    Answer: No and no.

    I can understand the first NO. The 2nd NO exists likely because the DM Night changes are an effect in the RALLY Phase…YET, capture/surrender are effects in the ROUT phase…
    so the “NO” might be misleading…The could’ve simply not had the reference to Chap E if the Cap/Sur don’t apply either.

    0
    0

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here