Page 1 of 1

SK Rules question - interdiction of a unit routing with unbroken leader

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2022 7:25 am
by jbrachson
Hi,

I have 2 questions related to interdictions when routing with an unbroken leader:

"An unpinned leader already stacked with a broken unit before it routs may elect to rout with the broken unit even though he is not broken. If the leader does so, he is eliminated if the broken unit he is stacked with fails an Interdiction NMC. He must remain with the unit throughout the RtPh but is not considered broken and may add his leadership DRM to its Interdiction NMC. If the leader does so, he is eliminated if the broken unit he is stacked with fails an Interdiction NMC.

OK. So what happens when the unit is then subject to interdiction NMC? Does the leader have to pass the NMC first, as in a normal shooting attack? OR only the broken routing unit is subject to the NMC test (and if it fails the leader is eliminated?),


[...] "If Interdiction occurs, then the routing unit is subject to a NMC and everything that normally entails."

Does "everything that normally entails" refer to ELR, Casualty Reduction as in regular shooting attacks?


Thank you!

Re: SK Rules question - interdiction of a unit routing with unbroken leader

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2022 4:07 pm
by Neal
Pretty much as it reads.

If a leader is Interdicted with a broken unit it doesn't have to pass a NMC, only the broken squad does. If the broken unit fails an Interdiction NMC during its rout, it's casualty reduced and the leader is eliminated. Pretty risky unless, say, you have 8 morale units and a -1 or -2 leader ... and are a bit desperate.

Broken units are immune to ELR effects, but broken units can be "pinned" during rout meaning they have to stop routing.