SK Rules/Play question (prob applies to ASL too)

Anything ASLSK related.
Post Reply
User avatar
mrking42
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Tamp Bay area

SK Rules/Play question (prob applies to ASL too)

Post by mrking42 »


Greetings,

Playing thru S1 for the first time and have a question about when enemy units can “see” each other.

If there is a DEFENDER MMC in yL7 and an ATTACKER MMC in yN5 and the yN5 unit moves (during MPh) to yM6, can the DEF. MMC “see” the MMC in yM6 (and take DFF on it)?

Thanks,
TK
User avatar
mrking42
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Tamp Bay area

Re: SK Rules/Play question (prob applies to ASL too)

Post by mrking42 »


I think I’ve reached a satisfactory answer by watching some vids and reading an example of play (ASLSK and S1 specific).

The two units CAN see one another even though they both are in buildings and one is moving from out of LOS and into it (no LOS obstruction between the two building).

My trip up is that I imagine the ATTACKER unit entering the building out of sight of the DEFENDER and ask “how would the DEFENDER unit know?”.

-TK
User avatar
Neal
Site Admin
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 6:25 pm
Location: Seattle area, U.S.
Contact:

Re: SK Rules/Play question (prob applies to ASL too)

Post by Neal »


mrking42 wrote: Mon Aug 23, 2021 4:32 pm Greetings,

Playing thru S1 for the first time and have a question about when enemy units can “see” each other.

If there is a DEFENDER MMC in yL7 and an ATTACKER MMC in yN5 and the yN5 unit moves (during MPh) to yM6, can the DEF. MMC “see” the MMC in yM6 (and take DFF on it)?
Yes. There's a certain amount of abstraction involved, but the MMC in yL7 can see the unit moving into yM6 even though it was previously out of LOS in yN5. The assumption is there's movement IN hex yM6 (MF expenditure) thus they can be fire on. Anywhere a unit expends MF in a hex and an enemy unit has LOS to said hex, it can be fire on.

Admin
User avatar
mrking42
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Tamp Bay area

Re: SK Rules/Play question (prob applies to ASL too)

Post by mrking42 »


Neal wrote: Wed Aug 25, 2021 6:24 pm
mrking42 wrote: Mon Aug 23, 2021 4:32 pm Greetings,

Playing thru S1 for the first time and have a question about when enemy units can “see” each other.

If there is a DEFENDER MMC in yL7 and an ATTACKER MMC in yN5 and the yN5 unit moves (during MPh) to yM6, can the DEF. MMC “see” the MMC in yM6 (and take DFF on it)?
Yes. There's a certain amount of abstraction involved, but the MMC in yL7 can see the unit moving into yM6 even though it was previously out of LOS in yN5. The assumption is there's movement IN hex yM6 (MF expenditure) thus they can be fire on. Anywhere a unit expends MF in a hex and an enemy unit has LOS to said hex, it can be fire on.
Thanks for the confirmation/clarification. Things make a lot of sense given that context.

Cheers,
Post Reply