advancing into a nex with HIP unit?

Ask a question, answer a question...or both.
Post Reply
User avatar
Bogcheck
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 3:51 am

advancing into a nex with HIP unit?

Post by Bogcheck »


What happens when a squad Advances into a woods hex containing an enemy HIP squad? Is the squad revealed, or is it the players choice? Or something else?

HIP and concealment rules give me fits when movement is involved.
User avatar
Neal
Site Admin
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 6:25 pm
Location: Seattle area, U.S.
Contact:

Re: advancing into a nex with HIP unit?

Post by Neal »


I believe if you try to advance into a hex with a HIP unit you are bounced back to the hex prior to entry, and any HIP units are placed under ? and are allowed to fire if they choose (losing ? obviously). Often units that lose HIP this way want to keep their ? because it gives a big advantage to keep the attacking unit from advancing into CC.

See A12.31 and the rule sections it refers to at the end of the paragraph.

Admin
User avatar
Bogcheck
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 3:51 am

Re: advancing into a nex with HIP unit?

Post by Bogcheck »


thanks. I reread the sections that are refered and I think I'm getting it. just need to play it in action to get it down.
User avatar
Bogcheck
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 3:51 am

Re: advancing into a nex with HIP unit?

Post by Bogcheck »


:lol: oh and I mean hex, hex not nex
User avatar
VaslingStew
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 12:29 pm

Re: advancing into a nex with HIP unit?

Post by VaslingStew »


Bogcheck wrote: Mon Oct 05, 2020 12:12 am What happens when a squad Advances into a woods hex containing an enemy HIP squad? Is the squad revealed, or is it the players choice? Or something else?

HIP and concealment rules give me fits when movement is involved.
You enter CC with the units that must lose HIP but is placed under a ?ment.
Post Reply