DTO SCENARIO VICTORY CONDITIONS ERROR?

For discussion/questions of Chapter F rules.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kohlenklau
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2022 10:34 pm

DTO SCENARIO VICTORY CONDITIONS ERROR?

Post by Kohlenklau »


ASL SCENARIO A90 "CUTTING OUT A STRONGPOINT"

The Victory Conditions might be worded poorly or in error...?

It says:
The South Africans win if no Trench hex contains an unbroken-Axis-Infantry-Unit/Axis-manned-AFV-with functioning-armament at game end, provided the Axis has not amassed > 17 casualty DVP.

But the trenches are surrounded by (+3) AT mines and the Axis vehicles have no feasible way to even enter into any trench.

The "/" is odd as it means "or". Like A or B..but B cannot even happen.

Get me?

I think my opponent won as allies as he had cleaned out the trenches and I had some L3's headed for the hills at game end but they're not in the trenches and could not be.

He thinks I won. I think he won.

Any comments?
User avatar
Prester John
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2022 3:19 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: DTO SCENARIO VICTORY CONDITIONS ERROR?

Post by Prester John »


Vehicles can survive AT mine fields. You must roll <= 3 on one die for the vehicle to be attacked each time it enters and exits a three factor AT mine field hex.
User avatar
Kohlenklau
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2022 10:34 pm

Re: DTO SCENARIO VICTORY CONDITIONS ERROR?

Post by Kohlenklau »


oh, I will bounce that off my opponent. He had mentioned it was a 36 on the IFT chart. I could have garbled that a bit. He has an old copy of the rules and an oldish noggin. But he has likely forgotten more about ASL versus what I have cobbled together to know...so far! We do the "snatch the pebbles from my hand, grasshopper" joke every once in a while too.

EDIT: ok, the axis vehicles COULD roll to enter the AT minefields, they COULD roll to exit out them and go into the trenches. The Victory conditions are correct as written. Thanks again.
User avatar
Prester John
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2022 3:19 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: DTO SCENARIO VICTORY CONDITIONS ERROR?

Post by Prester John »


Yep, roll to hit, then roll to immobilise/destroy with the 36 firepower.
Post Reply