A13: Cavalry, Aph or not?

For discussion/questions of Chapter A rules.
Post Reply
User avatar
Traveller
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2022 1:31 pm

A13: Cavalry, Aph or not?

Post by Traveller »


Cavalry.
Here is the situation that needs to be solved. I interpret the rules to state that cavalry cannot advance in the advance phase based on these 3 paragraphs;

A13.1 Cavalry is any Personnel unit Riding a horse, and is symbolized by
placing the Personnel Counter directly atop the Horse Counter. The instant
Cavalry dismounts it is treated as Infantry with a separate Horse counter. Any
Personnel unit that mounts a horse is considered qualified Cavalry.
-This says cavalry are not infantry when mounted on a horse.

4.7 ADVANCE PHASE: Infantry units which are neither broken, pinned,...
-This says infantry can advance in the advance phase.

A13.7 HORSES: No horse may be transported by vehicle [EXC: LC; G12.12], portaged, or MOVED in the
RtPh/APh or by Assault Movement.
-This says horses cannot be moved in the rout or advance phase, or by assault movement.

My opponent interprets the rules to say cavalry can advance in the advance phase.

Any opinions or input???
User avatar
Neal
Site Admin
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 6:25 pm
Location: Seattle area, U.S.
Contact:

Re: Cavalry, Aph or not?

Post by Neal »


The instant Cavalry dismounts it is treated as Infantry with a separate Horse counter.
I interpret the rules that the unit riding a horse is not considered Infantry until they dismount, and advance only applies to Infantry units. The mechanics for mounting, riding, dismounting horses is pretty much the same as vehicles, motorcycles, bicycles...and none of them can advance in the APh. So I would not interpret anything in the rules as cavalry being able to advance in the APh.

Neal - Site Admin
User avatar
Traveller
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2022 1:31 pm

Re: A13: Cavalry, Aph or not?

Post by Traveller »


Thank you for answering. I totally agree.
Post Reply