Turn 2 of another Let’s Play Tutorial series playing the small scenario “Hamlet’s Demise” (A114) featuring a small order of battle, but one that includes a handful of tanks and guns to illustrate the principles covered in Boot Camps 24-30. If you have questions about anything presented, post up in the comments below!

Go to this link to see the first part of this scenario where I analyze it using the METT-TC process.

Boot Camp tutorials are rule and tactical discussions for new and veteran players. These tutorials are mere summaries and examples and are NOT meant as exhaustive replacements for reading the relevant rule sections.

Join the Supporter Roll Call to support the channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVIdiYMT0xkK3_s5ELIcAWA/join

Please leave feedback here or in the Youtube comments. Thanks!

.END OF BRIEFING.


© 2023-2024, Neal Ulen. All Rights Reserved. Please read the Copyright & Fair Use Notice.
ASL-Players.net is not affiliated with Hasbro, AH Games, Inc., or MMP, Inc. Advanced Squad Leader is a trademark of AH Games, Inc.


6 COMMENTS

  1. Neal – I am confused on the 8-3-8 AE Defensive First Fire (DFF) sequence at about the 47:00 minute mark of the video.

    Specifically, I don’t get how the FT could fire as DFF after the AE Squad used Subsequent Fire Fire (SFF). Per last sentence of A8.3: “If a unit, or any SW/Gun it possesses, uses Subsequent First Fire (or Intensive Fire) then that unit and all its SW/Guns are marked with a Final Fire counter.”

    My view is no FT DFF shot is permitted; but I now suspect that I might have been playing SFF wrong / understanding the mechanics incorrectly for a long time.

    Appreciate any insight you can provide.

    Thanks – Alan

    1
    0
    • Good catch. I’ll have to think on this one because it’s an interesting question. The entire section talks about inherent FP and MG/IFE being linked, and preventing a squad from “splitting its usable inherent FP from that of its MG/IFE in SFF”. But a FT must always be separate, yet at the very end of A8.3 it indeed says what you quoted.

      Per the wording of the last sentence you’re probably right, but it doesn’t “feel” right. If that makes sense.

      Edit: okay I dug through the rules (and even read the SK rules) and some forum posts and based on the wording in 8.3 it appears you literally cannot fire any SW other than a MG outside of First Fire, since SFF/FPF only make reference to “MG/IFE” not “SW”. Never really picked up on that. So the takeaway is, always fire your non-MG SWs before ANYTHING during DFF.

      1
      0
      • Neal – I think the below is a valid sequence WRT the 8-3-8 AE with FT. What say you?

        French infantry enters building for 2 MF.

        1) AE fires inherent FP on first MF. **Mark Squad First Fired with FT above FF counter.
        2) AE then fires FT also against the first MF. **Put First Fire Marker above AE and FT.

        (I believe 1 & 2 above is permissible per A7.351 and because Mandatory Fire Group is NA since FT are an explicit exception to A7.55 and also FT can’t FG [A22.31]).

        3) AE then conducts SFF on the second MF. **Mark AE & FT as Final Fire.

        1 & 2 probably can reversed if desired, but FT needs to fire prior to squad conducting SFF.

        Alan

        1
        0
        • “1 & 2 probably can reversed if desired, but FT needs to fire prior to squad conducting SFF.”

          Yes, I agree. FT don’t come into OBs much so I think I’ve usually kind of treated them like MGs. But I think this also applies to PFs, Baz, Psk, probably even throwing a DC during DFF.

          1
          0
  2. Neal – but didn’t the French 37* AFV MA & CMG fire twice in some turn? Start of MPh (41:00) and then again in AFPh at (59:00).

    AFVs are not my strong suit (strange for an Armor Officer to say that….), but am I missing something really obvious in the rules?

    Appreciate any insight you can provide.

    Thanks – Alan

    0
    0

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here