ASL Boot Camp #19: Retaking Vierville (Turn 2)

ASL Boot Camp #19: Retaking Vierville (Turn 2)


ASL Boot Camp by: Neal Ulen

Retaking Vierville (Turn 2)

Turn 2 Let’s Play! tutorial of the ASL Starter Kit scenario Retaking Vierville. This scenario covers the basics of Advanced Squad Leader play … infantry rules. New ASL Starter Kit and full ASL players can use the video to learn the basics of the ASL system, including the phase system, movement, fire attacks, morale, terrain, and close combat.

I will play though all 5 turns of Retaking Vierville (in 5 separate videos) as a tutorial for current and new ASL players to reinforce the infantry rules laid out in ASL Starter Kit, and the previous Boot Camp tutorials.

The goal of ASL Boot Camp is to present rule and tactical discussions for new and veteran players. New Boot Camp Exercises posted … well, when I make them (hint: there’s no schedule!). Also, if I screw up a rules interpretation (we all do) in any of my videos, PLEASE post in the comments so we can correct it!!!

If you’d like to support the channel and the creation of more ASL videos, there are two ways … You can donate or become a Youtube supporter.

Please leave feedback here or in the Youtube comments. Thanks!

.END OF BRIEFING.


Original Words/Video Content © 2022, Neal Ulen. All rights reserved.
Disclaimer: ASL-Players.net is not affiliated with Hasbro, Avalon Hill Games, Inc., or Multi-Man Publishing, Inc. Advanced Squad Leader is a trademark of Avalon Hill Games, Inc.


2 Comments

  1. In my opinion de american parachute squad could not route to the stone building because your “movement” represent an advance to enemy position…

    1. Hi Ricardo, two distinctions:

      1) (rule 3.6, SK rulebook) “a routing unit may not rout toward an enemy unit (even if it is broken) **while in that enemy’s LOS,** in any way which decreases the range in hexes between the routing unit and the **Known Enemy Unit**”

      2) Known Enemy Unit (KEU): Any unconcealed (8.3) enemy unit to which the friendly unit in question currently has LOS.

      Neither of the German squads in Q6 and P6 were in the LOS of the routing 747, and thus were not Known Enemy Units. So it appears that I’m routing towards them, but from the point of view of the American squad on the board those 2 German units don’t exist (it can’t see them), so it could rout into the building in R7. If it could continue to rout it would have to stop there because it then gains LOS to the German squads.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To the top